Community EngagementMaroondahMedia ReleasesUrban Sustainability

Media Release: Maroondah’s top youth recognised

By October 27, 2010November 15th, 2010No Comments

Maroondah City Council recognised the efforts of more than 45 young people at the 2010 Youth Volunteer Recognition Evening on Thursday, October 21.

Maroondah Mayor Councillor Alex Makin, who attended the night, said the event recognised the outstanding contribution made by young volunteers and leaders in the Maroondah community.

“Young volunteers in Maroondah play an important role in our society, and it is important to have events like the 2010 Youth Volunteer Recognition Evening to officially recognise the efforts that these young people are putting in to help others in their community,” Cr Makin said.

“Whether it be by organising events for young people or acting as a role model for new settlers in the community, all of these volunteers have dedicated their own time to better the lives of others, and they should be applauded for their efforts,” Cr Makin said.

“It is great to know that we have such generous and dedicated young people working to better our community,” Cr Makin said.

Guest speaker for the 2010 Youth Volunteer Recognition Evening was Gerard Pidoto, owner of Fist2Face Music Store in Ringwood.

“Gerard spoke about his own past involvement in volunteering for a number of organisations including Maroondah Youth Services and talked about how the skills he learned through volunteering had helped him in his journey to become a successful business owner,” Cr Makin said.

The individual awards went to:

Matthew Allard, Joshua O’Toole, Frances Rowlands, Lane Tukiri, Kristie Stark, Matthew Bass, Katelyn Smith, Melissa Nicholls, Georgia Appleton, Naomi Corbett, Jonathan Medlin, Scarlett Sobota, Shenae Kerr, Darcy Krenn, Mikaela Kos.

The group awards went to:

EV’s Festival Crew: Josh Kerr, Ashley Mallett, Marissa Lee, Alex Wakeley, Jessica Wilson, Jackson Miller, Kayla Jones, Sophie Gill and Sarah Ross.

Beaut Buddies:
Anyang Majok, Rosetta Ivy, Mary Mabior, Parku Khup Lian, Mitch Gowland, Tania Tuima, Jodie O’Donahue, William Smith.

Audio District 2010 Maroondah FReeZA Group: Athena Soldo, Christie Taylor, Stephanie Luff, Brittany Josephs, Eleanor Savage, Gage Roberts, Shane Barton, Ratih Grayson-Widarsito, Keely Lohman, Montee Douglas, Gavin Styles

1st Croydon Hills Scout Group: David Nicholls, Tahlia Purdie and Rochelle Anderson

– ENDS –

Alex Makin

Alex Makin

Alex Makin is a councillor for the Mullum Ward in the City of Maroondah. Alex has been a councillor since 2005, representing ratepayers, businesses, community groups and residents. I aim to continue making a difference and welcome any thoughts you may have in regard to life, community and business in Maroondah. Phone: (03) 9870 8202 or 0408 311 645 Email:

Leave a Reply