The Eastern Transport Coalition (ETC), formerly the Eastern Region Integrated Transport Group, is a coalition of seven outer eastern councils including the Cities of Maroondah, Whitehorse, Manningham, Knox, Monash, Greater Dandenong and the Shire of Yarra Ranges.

Collectively the Eastern Transport Coalition represents almost one million residents and contains a number of major commercial precincts. Despite represents a population the size of Adelaide the eastern region has been the site of continued public transport neglect.

The Mission Statement is as follows: The Eastern Transport Coalition will advocate for sustainable and integrated transport services in the Eastern region of Melbourne which focus on the travel needs of the community and reduce the level of car dependencyThe Eastern Transport Coalition, of which I am the Maroondah representative, announced its launch at the Box Hill Tram Terminus amid its public call to secure the improvements to public transport that are required to ensure the environmental, social and economic success of Melbourne’s eastern suburbs.

Cr. Mick Van de Vreede from Knox City Council, who has a strong background of public transport advocacy, is the current chair of the Eastern Transport Coalition.

The State Government’s recently announced Transport and Liveability Statements falls far short of what is required for Melbourne’s eastern suburbs. The Eastern Transport Coalition will ensure that improvements are realised as it holds the government accountable in the implementation of the statement.

Alex Makin

Alex Makin

Alex Makin is a councillor for the Mullum Ward in the City of Maroondah. Alex has been a councillor since 2005, representing ratepayers, businesses, community groups and residents. I aim to continue making a difference and welcome any thoughts you may have in regard to life, community and business in Maroondah. Phone: (03) 9870 8202 or 0408 311 645 Email:

Leave a Reply