MaroondahMedia Releases

Media Release: Peter Gurr resigns from Council

By January 4, 2010January 5th, 2010No Comments

“It is with regret that I advise the Maroondah community that Peter Gurr has resigned from his role as a Councillor of the City of Maroondah, effective 31 December, 2009,” said Mayor of Maroondah, Councillor Alex Makin.

“Peter was elected to the first Maroondah City Council in March 1997, and has served the Arrabri Ward continuously across five terms of elected office,” said Cr Makin.

During his thirteen year term of office, Peter has been Mayor of Maroondah on three occasions:

  • March 2000 to March 2001
  • December 2006 to December 2007
  • December 2008 to December 2009.

“Peter has made a wonderful contribution to the Maroondah community. In particular he has been a committee member of the Arrabri Community House for many years, many times as Chair. He has also been Chair of Council’s Business Advisory Board and Audit Advisory Committee on a number of occasions,” said Cr Makin.

“Over the years, Peter has also represented Council on a range of committees and boards, including the Maroondah Partners in Health, Safety and Wellbeing Committee; the Maroondah Tourism and Heritage Advisory Board; the Melbourne Valley of the Arts Marketing Board; the Ringwood Town Centre Working Group; the Municipal Association of Victoria; and the Ringwood Eisteddfod,” said Cr Makin.

“My fellow Councillors and I offer Peter, and his wife Helen, our best wishes as they move onto the next phase of their lives,” said Cr Makin.

The process to fill the vacancy in the Arrabri Ward will be managed by the Victorian Electoral Commission via a countback using the votes cast at the November 2008 Maroondah City Council election,” said Cr Makin.

“It is important that the community be aware that the resignation of a Councillor does not trigger a by-election for the vacant position,” said Cr Makin.

The Victorian Electoral Commission has set Wednesday 27 January as the date for the countback. Time is yet to be confirmed. The elected candidate will then take up the remainder of the Council term through to November 2012.

Unsuccessful Arrabri Ward candidates in the November 2008 Maroondah City Council election were:

  • Robyn Barrand
  • Aaron Carlson
  • Tony Dib
  • Christina Gleeson
  • James Jamison
  • Neil MacDonald
  • Brian Robinson
  • Neil Rose

It is anticipated that the newly elected Councillor will be sworn in at the next Council meeting on the 15th of February.

Alex Makin

Alex Makin

Alex Makin is a councillor for the Mullum Ward in the City of Maroondah. Alex has been a councillor since 2005, representing ratepayers, businesses, community groups and residents. I aim to continue making a difference and welcome any thoughts you may have in regard to life, community and business in Maroondah. Phone: (03) 9870 8202 or 0408 311 645 Email:

Leave a Reply